Cabinet cleared a ₹10,000 crore plan on October 28 to build shipping containers in India and lift yearly capacity tenfold to 7.5 lakh TEUs by 2039-40.
Updated: October 31, 2026, 10:15 AM IST
Quick Read
- The Union Cabinet approved the Container Manufacturing Promotion Scheme on October 28, 2026, with ₹10,000 crore set aside up to FY 2039-40.
- The goal: lift India’s yearly container-making capacity from about 70,000 TEUs to 7.5 lakh TEUs, and create about 3,000 direct and over 50,000 indirect jobs.
- Most of the money, ₹8,891 crore, pays factories for containers they make to global standards and sell.
What is a shipping container, in plain words
A shipping container is a large steel box used to move goods by ship, train, and truck. It comes in standard sizes, most often 20 feet or 40 feet long. A TEU is the unit used to count them. TEU stands for twenty-foot equivalent unit. One 20-foot box counts as one TEU. One 40-foot box counts as two TEUs.
Almost everything you buy that comes from abroad travels in one of these boxes: clothes, phones, machine parts, toys, and food items. Bulk goods like loose coal or oil are the main exception. Because boxes are standard, a crane can lift the same box from a ship to a train to a truck with no repacking. That standard box is what keeps world trade moving.
India moves most of its trade by sea. Business Standard, citing government data, notes sea transport carried about 95% of India’s goods trade by volume and 70% by value as of February 2026. When boxes run short, exports wait and small exporters suffer first.
Why India imports most of its boxes
India makes very few boxes today. Trade coverage puts yearly capacity at about 70,000 TEUs, with actual output far lower. ETInfra reports actual FY24 production of just 24,000 TEUs. That is a tiny base for a country with India’s trade size.
China dominates this trade. ETInfra reports China holds up to 95% of world container making, about 8 million TEUs in 2024. ETV Bharat reports about 80% of India’s container imports come from China. The exact share differs by source and year, but the picture is the same: one country makes most of the world’s boxes, and India buys from abroad.
Cost is the core problem. ETInfra reports Indian makers face a cost gap of ₹50,000 to ₹75,000 per TEU against China, driven by higher steel prices, low scale, and weak testing facilities. Steel is the main raw material for a box. Special steel, called Corten steel, resists rust and wear. If that steel costs more in India, the box costs more too. Small factories also lack the machines and testing rigs that large Chinese plants use.
Shortages hit hard in recent years. ETInfra notes container prices surged 300–400% during COVID-19 and Red Sea disruptions, leaving Indian exporters paying more or losing orders.
What the Cabinet approved on October 28
The Union Cabinet, chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, approved the Container Manufacturing Promotion Scheme (CMPS) on October 28, 2026, per the Press Information Bureau (PIB) release that day. The scheme was first announced in the Union Budget 2026-27. It will run from FY 2027-28 to FY 2039-40. That is three years to set up factories, plus ten years of production support.
The PIB release lists three funded parts: Operational expenditure assistance ₹8,891 crore — pays makers for containers built to global shipping standards and sold. Interest subvention assistance ₹859 crore — pays 3% per year of interest on loans to build new plants or expand old ones. Testing and certification assistance ₹150 crore — pays for shared test facilities, such as impact tests on boxes.
Interest subvention is a plain idea. A factory takes a loan to build a plant. The government pays 3% of the yearly interest on that loan. The factory pays less interest, so building the plant costs less. Moneycontrol also lists a fourth part, land leasing support, with no amount given in its report. The PIB release itself names the three funded parts above. This post follows the PIB release for amounts, and flags the land part as reported but unpriced in the official release.
Also read: India-US trade deal: farm and dairy protected
The desk check: the parts do not add up to ₹10,000 crore
This desk added the three PIB amounts: ₹8,891 crore plus ₹859 crore plus ₹150 crore equals ₹9,900 crore. That is ₹100 crore short of the headline ₹10,000 crore outlay. The PIB release does not say what the other ₹100 crore is for. It may cover land support, admin costs, or a reserve, but the release does not state it. Readers should not assume the gap is an error. They should note it as unexplained in the official release.
Spread evenly, ₹10,000 crore over 13 years averages about ₹769 crore per year. That is a simple average, not the real yearly plan: spending will be low in set-up years and higher once factories sell boxes.
Who can get help, and what it means for jobs and ports
Size thresholds are strict. ETInfra and Moneycontrol both report that a new greenfield plant must make at least 1,00,000 TEUs a year to qualify. Greenfield means a brand-new plant on a fresh site. An existing brownfield plant must expand by at least 25,000 TEUs a year. Brownfield means growth at a plant that already exists.
Local content rules rise over time. Business Standard reports makers must use at least 70% local content through FY32, rising to 90% from FY33. Local content means parts and materials sourced in India. The rule pushes factories to buy Indian steel, frames, and fittings, not just assemble imported parts.
ETInfra adds per-box payment rates not stated in the PIB release: ₹49,500 for a 20-foot box and ₹86,625 for a 40-foot box sold for domestic use or export. Those rates are reported by ETInfra, not confirmed in the PIB release used as the primary source here. Treat them as reported rates until the scheme guidelines publish them.
The PIB release projects about 3,000 direct jobs and over 50,000 indirect jobs in linked work like steel, frames, paints, and port handling. ETInfra notes indicative greenfield proposals from firms including Adani Group, MSC, DCM Containers, and Maersk/Artson. Indicative means early interest, not a signed deal, and the PIB release names no confirmed recipient.
For exporters, the gain is steadier box supply. If Indian factories make boxes near ports, exporters wait less and pay less for empty boxes moved from abroad. Risks remain. Business Standard notes experts warn the scheme may not directly cut freight rates. Freight rates depend on ships, fuel, and world demand, not only on box supply.
What happens next is guidelines. An inter-ministerial steering committee chaired by the shipping ministry secretary will approve guidelines and sanction help, per Maritime Gateway. Until those guidelines appear, no factory can claim money. Watch for the guideline notice, the first sanctioned plants, and the local-content test in FY33.
FAQ
What is a TEU?
TEU stands for twenty-foot equivalent unit. It is the standard count for shipping boxes. A 20-foot box is one TEU. A 40-foot box is two TEUs.
Why does India need to make its own containers?
India makes about 70,000 TEUs a year in capacity, while China makes up to 95% of the world’s boxes. That leaves Indian exporters exposed when boxes run short or prices spike, as they did during COVID-19 and Red Sea disruptions.
When will factories start getting money?
The scheme runs from FY 2027-28 to FY 2039-40. Factories get three years to set up, then up to ten years of production support. First, the government must publish detailed guidelines and approve plants.
Also read: Jio Platforms IPO listing Oct 28


